Using PHP Manager or/with Zend Server

MS recently introduced a great tool for juggling multiple instances of PHP within IIS. Being the Win PHP phan that I am, I decided to install the PHP Manager. To my chagrin, after the install was done PHP 5.2.1.4 was the default PHP for my server. But this is what it was meant for right? Off I went to set it back to PHP 5.3 from Zend Server.

To get to the PHP manager, simply select your server name from within IIS for global settings. On the right hand pane you will see the icon for the PHP Manager. Open it and you will be presented with several sub headings: PHP Setup, PHP Settings, PHP Extensions.  My first thought was that it was going to be easy.  I clicked ‘Register new PHP version’, browsed to the php-cgi.exe and clicked ok.

It told me that there was not a sub-directory for extensions.  Here is where things got hung up a bit.  It seems that the manager expects things to be situated a certain way.  I didn’t want to disrupt things.  I thought it might be nice if I could make a simlink like I would on Linux.  I never tried the new simlinks in Win 7, so I used the following commands from the directory where the php-cgi.exe was located:

mklink /H php.ini ..\etc\php.ini
mklink /D ext ..\lib\phpext

Once I did this, i was able to register that particular PHP instance.  If this helps you out let me know!

Using PHP Manager or/with Zend Server

Leave a Reply

