First Problem with Microsoft Web Platform 2

I think it is good that MS placed PHP into it’s installation of Web Platform 2.  Today I decided to try out PHPMyAdmin and found that mcrypt is not installed.  No biggy, just as long as you use the right binaries.  I found this that says the package uses PHP 5.2.9-1 Windows installer to silently install PHP.  That is the VS6 version of the binaries.  These are different binaries than are linked to at http://php.net/downloads.php.  I decided to make it easy on myself and I downloaded the php-5.2.9-1-nts-Win32-VC6-x86.msi installer.  If you do this, make sure you stop IIS.  If you don’t it wont be able to get everything.  I just selected to ‘Change’ the install.  Then select ‘IIS FastCGI’.  On the screen that follows that, I clicked ‘Extensions’ and then ‘Entire feature will be installed on the local hard drive’.   I then completed the installer, and it even modified my PHP.ini to load all the extensions.  Problem solved.

First Problem with Microsoft Web Platform 2

Leave a Reply

