I thought I would take a moment to share my .NET Ajax experience. I have tried several implementations out there. The most obvious being Atlas. It seems to work well, but it isn’t overly easy to use. I could get basic functionality when I built my forms with it in mind. The next one I looked at was Ajax .NET Pro. which seems to be even more robust. Unfortunately it is not easy to implement either. I have seen videos of Atlas being as easy to implement as throwing a panel around a controls, but I have yet to make that work. I muked around for a while with these until I decided that I need to find something I could tack onto my current apps, with little fuss. I thought there has to be something that is as easy to implement as Atlas is advertised to be. Where did I arrive but with MagicAjax. Now my first turn-off was the name. Anything in the programming world that calls itself ‘magic’ is… well, like the silos that are Microsoft and Apple. They would love for you to think they were magic. It is MSVS after all so I poked it into my web.config and onto my controller page, and …

Have you ever been working on something that you were extremely intent on for hours? Constantly trying different directions, each taking a painful time investment? It is like your grandma searching room to room for a lost pet in a mansion. She frantically runs (or if she is like mine, painfully pulls herself) up and down halls opening door after door, turning each room inside out. Then while on her way to the next room, her pet ambles out into the hall and looks at her like: ‘Whats your problem?’

Ya, like that. It just worked. I giggled out loud, which my cube neighbors may have found a little unnerving. At about 6′ and 250lb, my mustache bearing unshaven face and Grizzly Adams like demeanor doesn’t exactly leave you waiting for when I will giggle next.

The only thing I don’t really care for is that I have little control over the calls, and I just end up working with it like it is a fat client, which still goes against my grain. Everthing in it’s context, and me with my Rolex.

Leave a Reply

