Domain vs. Scope

Something I find myself fighting is this domain namespace model. You would think it would be a great tool when combined with the intelligence of the IDE. The fact of the matter is that it is more cumbersome than it needs to be. I have come to see that it actually limits my ability when combined with the strong typing. I tried to no avail to get a custom control to pass an event up the page inheritance ladder. I asked a friend who told me that it couldn’t be done. Now I am sure there is a work around for this. Maybe creating a message buss that fires global events… or … Why the hell would I need to do that? So I skipped the whole ‘Where do you want to go today? Oh, sorry, you can’t go there.’ experience and decided to fire an Ajax event from the control that in turn fires a page’s event. I can see that there needs to be a balance. I need to have controls over my scope. I just need to figure it out.

I have started using place holders and controller collections. This is a useful concept in the scope of .NET. Especially when coupled with Ajax. I make an Ajax panel with a place holder in it and fire events that change the control on the place holder. It works as a nice little front controller pattern. I haven’t figured out how to fire a method of the dynamically loaded control though. Strong typing is my bane. If I could get events to share more freely I would rule my apps. I keep hacking at the C# ASP .NET Chastity Belt. SHE WILL BE MINE!!

Leave a Reply

